Booking Formats


Malaysian Calendar
Currency Converter



Johor   Kedah   Kelantan   Kuala Lumpur   Labuan   Melaka   N. Sembilan   Pahang   Penang   Perak   Perlis   Putrajaya   Sabah   Sarawak   Selangor   Terengganu


Putrajaya ~ Landmarks

The Buildings Colossal Buildings The South Bridges The North Bridges The Landmarks
The Parks Lake Cruise & Tour Putrajaya Map

  Millennium Monument Mercu Tanda Pesiaran Perdana (Putrajaya Boulevard) Dataran Putra

Millennium Monument
Located at the Dataran Warisan, this is a national monument in Putrajaya. The monument is 68m tall. It stands in a 25 hectare park and is constructed of solid metal structures. The overall design is based on an abstract of the Bunga Raya (the hibiscus), the national flower. Built as a timeline, with etchings on the transparent panels along the walkway denoting important periods and milestones in the nation's history - from the Malacca sultanate, through independence, and to the present day. It is to serve as a medium for the younger generation to learn about the country's history, struggles and achievements. The futuristic-looking structure also resembles a rocket poised for launch. A beautiful sight at night, monument is illuminated and serves as a beacon with a beacon visible from various locations in Putrajaya. From its lower decks It offers an all round fantastic view of Putrajaya.

Mercu Tanda
Mecu Tanda or Putrajaya Landmark with its time capsule structure was built to commemorate the ground breaking of the Putrajaya Project in 1995. Its design is a combination of a high-technology theme and the use of contemporary and traditional motives. Located in Putra Perdana Park which is one of the highest points, allows visitors to enjoy panoramic view of Putrajaya. Landscaped with trees and water fountains; there are pedestrian walkways linking the to Cascade Plaza, Fragrant Garden,
gazebos and pergolas.

Pesiaran Perdana (Putrajaya Boulevard)
The Boulevard is one of the distinctive features of Putrajaya. 100m wide x 4 km long, the Boulevard forms the central spine linking the five core precincts of Putrajaya. Designed for ceremonial parades such such as the National Day celebration, it passes through four squares (dataran) or plazas - Dataran Wawasan, Dataran Rakyat, Dataran Putrajaya and Dataran Gemilang. The design and landscaping of the Boulevard celebrate the nation's diverse cultures and a rich Malaysian heritage.

Dataran Wawasan
Fronted by the Ministry of Finance building is the first plaza, marking the Northern end of the Boulevard.

Dataran Rakyat
located right in the middle of Taman Rakyat, this is more of an informal plaza, which has more of a park-like character.

Dataran Putrajaya
Flanked by the Perbadanan Putrajaya Complex and the Palace of Justice, this is also an elaborately designed plaza,

Dataran Gemilang
A circular shaped plaza that marks the southern end of Putrajaya Boulevard.

Dataran Putra
This can be described as the main square in Putrajaya and is where the Boulevard is linked to the Perdana Putra building. The 300 metres circular Dataran Putra is landscape by mogul Chahar Baghs, which acts as a transition between the parks and the ceremonial area, with carefully arranged interplay of paths, water channels, flower beds and trees.

The Dataran is divided into 11 segments, in the pattern of an 11-pointed star. The outer 11-pointed star represents the initial 11 states of Malaya when the country gained independence in August 1957, the inner 13-pointed star constitutes the 13 states that later formed Malaysia in 1963. The progressive arrangements of the different pointed stars finally culminate in a circle in the centre of the Dataran. The circle symbolising the ultimate goal of unity.





View Index

To all

Travel & Tours

Packages in



[The Buildings] [Colossal Buildings] [South Bridges] [North Bridges] [Landmarks] [The Parks] [Lake Cruise & Tour]

Copyright 2011-2012 Capslock Sdn Bhd.  All rights reserved.