• A Famosa • Dutch Graveyard
• The Stadthuys • St. John’s Fort •
• St. Peter’s Church • Portuguese Square • St. Francis Xaviers Church •
The hallmark of Melaka, was built by the Portuguese in 1511 as a fortress.
It sustained severe structural damage during the Dutch invasion. The Dutch
had set to destroy it, but the timely intervention by Sir Stanford Raffles
in 1808 saved what remains of A' Famosa today.
A war memorial dedicated to British officers and soldiers who died in the
Naning War (1831-32).
Built in 1650 as the official residence of the Dutch governors it is a
fine example of Dutch architecture preserved in its original structure and
form. Believed to be the oldest Dutch building in the east, it now houses
the historic museum and ethnography museum which has displays and detailed
explanations of Melaka’s history, local culture and traditions.
Rebuilt by the Dutch during the third quarter of the 18th century, it was
once a private Portuguese dedicated to St. John the Baptist. Situated on a
hilltop to the east of town, its interesting feature is that its gun
embrasures face inland.
Location: Junction of Jln.
Ujung Pasir and Jalan Senjuang.
The only church in Malaysia with a life-size alabaster statue of the dead
Lord before the Resurrection. It was built by the Portuguese in 1710 it
has an architectural style blending to that of Oriental and Occident.
Location: Jalan. Bendahara
“Mini Lisbon” located within the Portuguese settlement, the square is the
culmination of Portuguese culture and colour.
Francis Xaviers Church
Built in 1849 by Reverend Farv, a Frenchman, the Gothic-towered church is
dedicated to St. Francis Xavier, known as the Apostle of the East, who is
well remembered for his missionary work in spreading Catholicism in SE
in the 16th century.