• Kampung Kling Mosque • The Sam Poh Tong
Temple • Kampung Hulu’s Mosque •
• Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple •
The Cheng Hon Teng’s Temple • Tranquerah Mosque •
• Christ Church • St. Pauls Church •
One of the oldest mosques in the country with Sumatran architectural
features. It has a three-tiered roof rising like a pyramid and a minaret
peculiar in shape from a typical Moorish style, is structured like a
pagoda portraying a mixture of East-West architectural influence.
Sam Poh Tong Temple
Dedicated to Admiral Cheng Ho, the temple was named after a fish that
miraculously saved the Admirals ship from sinking while enroute to
Melaka. The fish mysteriously placed itself against a damaged hull
preventing the ship from taking on water.
Kampung Hulu’s Mosque
Built in 1728, it is the oldest mosque in Malaysia. Its unique
architectural style is not traceable to others in the country.
Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple
One of the first Hindu temples built in this country built on a plot given
by the Dutch.
Cheng Hon Teng’s Temple
The oldest Chinese temple in the country was built in 1646 with materials
brought from China. Fine workmanship is evident in the ornately decorated
mythological figures, carvings and lacquer work inside the temple.
Architecturally unique it bears the tomb of Sultan Hussain of Johore in
it's compound. He was the ruler who signed the cession of Singapore
with Sir Stamford Raffles in 1819.
Standing exactly as it has always been since 1753, it was built by the
Dutch with pink bricks brought out from Zeeland in Holland and faced with
local laterite it has ceiling beams constructed without joints. It has
handmade pews, Brass Bible, tombstone written in Armenian and “Last
Supper” in glazed tiles.
Location: Jalan. Gereja
Built by the Portuguese Captain Duarte Coelho in 1571, it was regularly
visited by Francis Xavier. Following his death in China, the saints was
brought here and buried for 9 months before being shipped to Goa, India.
The church has been in ruins for 150 years, but the setting is beautiful,
the walls imposing and fine old Dutch Tombstones stand around the
The Dutch into a burial ground for their noble dead and renamed it St.
Pauls Church from the Portuguese “Our Lady of the Hill”.